USL unveils its 30-team conference split for its first D2 season

January 10 – Just a few days after being granted Division II status in the US, the United Soccer League (USL) announced how its 30 teams will divide into Eastern and Western conferences for the 2017 expanded 32-game schedule.

The USL adds two new teams this season – Tampa Bay Rowdies and Ottawa Fury – defectors from the struggling eight-team NASL which was also granted Division II status. They will join the Eastern Conference along with Saint Louis who are rejoining the league. Expansion team Reno 1868 FC will play in the Western Conference.

“The USL aims to become one of the most globally recognized second division professional soccer leagues in the world and our expansive national footprint for this season will showcase teams in 21 of the top 50 U.S. media markets,” said USL President Jake Edwards. “The 2017 USL Season will feature a total of 495 games in 19 states with a focus on enhanced competition, and strong regional rivalries in both Eastern and Western Conferences.”

The USL’s 30-week season starts March 24-26 and concludes the weekend of October 13-15. Teams will play two games (one home, one away) against each conference rival. The remaining four games will be played against regional opposition. The top eight teams in each conference qualify for postseason play with the 2017 USL Cup Final being played the weekend of November 10-12.

Western Conference
Colorado Springs Switchbacks FC
LA Galaxy II
OKC Energy FC
Orange County Blues FC
Phoenix Rising FC
Portland Timbers 2
Real Monarchs SLC
Reno 1868 FC
Rio Grande Valley FC
Sacramento Republic FC
San Antonio FC
Seattle Sounders FC 2
Swope Park Rangers
Tulsa Roughnecks FC
Vancouver Whitecaps FC 2


Eastern Conference
Bethlehem Steel FC
Charleston Battery
Charlotte Independence
FC Cincinnati
Harrisburg City Islanders
Louisville City FC
New York Red Bulls II
Orlando City B
Ottawa Fury FC
Pittsburgh Riverhounds
Richmond Kickers
Rochester Rhinos
Saint Louis FC
Tampa Bay Rowdies
Toronto FC II

Contact the writer of this story at moc.l1527309409labto1527309409ofdlr1527309409owedi1527309409sni@n1527309409osloh1527309409cin.l1527309409uap1527309409