FIFPro names 55 top scoring players in voting for Women’s World XI

February 22 – FIFPro have released the list of 55 female players who received most votes for the 2016 World XI. The list includes six players from Germany’s Olympic Gold medal team, though the US has most naems on the list with nine, and France has eight players.

More than 3,000 female players from 47 countries voted for the 2016 World XI. Players from 22 countries make up the top 55 list. FIFPro invited players to select one goalkeeper, four defenders, three midfielders and three forwards.

Olympique Lyonnais players dominate the list, with 11 currently under contract for the French holder of the women’s Champions League. Paris Saint-Germain with seven players nominated and VfL Wolfsburg with seven, are second and third.

Most players are currently playing in the French league (18). Eleven are playing in Germany, seven in the USA.

FIFPro’s will announce the Women’s World XI on March 8, which is also International Women’s Day, a moment dedicated to celebrate women’s achievements.

The 55-player-shortlist consists of the 5 goalkeepers, 20 defenders, 15 midfielders and 15 attackers who received most votes.

In 2015, FIFPro organized its first Women’s World XI election, which involved female players voting in 20 countries. The 2015 World XI included Hope Solo, Wendie Renard, Meghan Klingenberg, Kadeisha Buchanan, Julie Johnston, Carli Lloyd, Amandine Henry, Aya Miyama, Celia Sasic, Eugenie Le Sommer and Anja Mittag.

Nine of them are on the current 55 player shortlist. Only Sasic (retired) and Miyama (plagued by injuries) did not make it.

The 55-player shortlist:

Name, country, current club


Katarzyna Kiedrzynek (Poland, Paris Saint-Germain)

Hedvig Lindahl (Sweden, Chelsea)

Andreea Paraluta (Romania, Atletico)

Tinja-Riikka Korpela (Finland, FC Bayern Munich)

Hope Solo (USA, Free agent)


Lucy Bronze (England, Manchester City)

Kadeisha Buchanan (Canada, Olympique Lyonnais)

Stephanie Catley (Australia, Melbourne City)

Nilla Fischer (Sweden, VfL Wolfsburg)

Sara Gama (Italy, ACF Brescia)

Laura Georges (France, Paris Saint-Germain)

Stephanie Houghton (England, Manchester City)

Julie Johnston (USA, Chicago Red Stars)

Meghan Klingenberg (USA, Portland Thorns)

Tabea Kemme (Germany, 1. FFC Turbine Potsdam)

Ali Krieger (USA, Orlando Pride)

Leonie Maier (Germany, FC Bayern Munich)

Amel Majri (France, Olympique Lyonnais)

Griedge M’Bock (France, Olympique Lyonnais)

Wendie Renard (France, Olympique Lyonnais)

Irene Paredes (Spain, Paris Saint-Germain)

Ali Riley (New Zealand, FC Rosengard)

Line Roddik Hansen (Denmark, FC Barcelona)

Becky Sauerbrunn (USA, FC Kansas City)

Marta Torrejon (Spain, FC Barcelona)


Camille Abily (France, Olympique Lyonnais)

Melanie Behringer (Germany, FC Bayern Munich)

Veronica Boquete (Spain, Paris Saint-Germain)

Sara Björk Gunnarsdóttir (Iceland, VfL Wolfsburg)

Pernille Harder (Denmark, VfL Wolfsburg)

Tobin Heath (USA, Portland Thorns)

Jenni Hermoso (Spain, FC Barcelona)

Amandine Henry (France, Paris Saint-Germain)

Saki Kumagai (Japan, Olympique Lyonnais)

Carli Lloyd (USA, Manchester City)

Dzsenifer Marozsán (Germany, Olympique Lyonnais)

Marta (Brazil, FC Rosengard)

Claudia Neto (Portugal, Linköpings FC)

Megan Rapinoe (USA, Seattle Reign)

Caroline Seger (Sweden, Olympique Lyonnais)

Attackers :

Andressa Alves (Brazil, FC Barcelona)

Ramona Bachmann (Switzerland, Chelsea)

Cristiane (Brazil, Paris Saint-Germain)

Shirley Cruz (Costa Rica, Paris Saint-Germain)

Caroline Graham Hansen (Norway, VfL Wolfsburg)

Ada Hegerberg (Norway, Olympique Lyonnais)

Eugénie Le Sommer (France, Olympique Lyonnais)

Vivianne Miedema (the Netherlands, FC Bayern Munich)

Anja Mittag (Germany, VfL Wolfsburg)

Alex Morgan (USA, Olympique Lyonnais)

Louisa Necib (France, Retired)

Alexandra Popp (Germany, VfL Wolfsburg)

Alexia Putellas (Spain, FC Barcelona)

Lotta Schelin (Sweden, FC Rosengard)

Christine Sinclair (Canada, Portland Thorns)

Contact the writer of this story at moc.l1594395356labto1594395356ofdlr1594395356owedi1594395356sni@n1594395356osloh1594395356cin.l1594395356uap1594395356