Video ref steps in twice to change goal decisions in Spain’s 2-0 win over France

March 29 – Video technology, which FIFA hopes will be used at next year’s World Cup, was used to correct two wrong decisions as Spain beat France 2-0 in a friendly in Paris.

Antoine Griezmann thought he had headed France into the lead three minutes after half-time but, after the referee consulted the extra official, the goal was ruled out for offside.

The opposite scenario then occurred when Spain’s Gerard Deulofeu, initially flagged offside, was ruled to have scored Spain’s winner after a 40-second conversation between the relevant officials.

Although his team was on the wrong end of both calls, French coach Didier Deschamps said he had no problem with the use of technology. “If it is verified and it is fair, why not? “

Both federations agreed to use the VAR system beforehand. It has already been used at the FIFA Club World Cup, and the English Football Association wants to use it in next season’s FA Cup from the third round onwards.

Contact the writer of this story at moc.l1632408306labto1632408306ofdlr1632408306owedi1632408306sni@w1632408306ahsra1632408306w.wer1632408306dna1632408306