Qatar to host 8-team Gulf Cup in 2019

September 10 – Despite the geo-political tensions, Qatar will be the hosts of the next Gulf Cup – the region’s showpiece national team football  event – in 2019.

The decision was confirmed at a meeting of Arab Gulf Cup Football Federation (AGCFF) chaired by Qatar Football Association (QFA) chairman and AGCFF chief Sheikh Hamad bin Khalifa al Thani.

The committee also extended Sheikh Hamad’s presidency for a period of another two years.

The Gulf Cup has attracted a wide following since it was first held in Bahrain in 1970.

During the 23rd Gulf Cup held in Kuwait in January this year, Oman defeated UAE 5-4 in a penalty shootout in front of a capacity crowd at Jaber al Ahmad International Stadium to lift its second title.

The tournament comprises eight teams – Qatar, Bahrain, Saudi Arabia, Kuwait, UAE, Oman, Iraq and Yemen. Qatar previously hosted the prestigious event in 1976, 1992 and 2004.

Contact the writer of this story at moc.l1566640210laboo1566640210fdlro1566640210wedis1566640210ni@wa1566640210hsraw1566640210.werd1566640210na1566640210


Latest Tweets