Salman gets backing of 12-member AFF for AFC presidency

March 18 – The 12 member Asean Football Federation (AFF) has pledged it allegiance to for Shaikh Salman bin Ebrahim Al Khalifa in the April election for AFC President.

The AFF, whose Council were meeting in Siem Reap in Cambodia, “announced its unanimous support” for Shaikh “to remain as the AFC President for another term”.

The countries affiliated to AFF are Australia, Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Timor Leste and Vietnam. All 12 member nations attended the AFF Council meeting.
Salman took over the AFC presidency in May 2013 at an AFC Extraordinary Congress to fulfil the remaining term of banned Mohamed bin Hammam. He was re-elected for a four-year term in 2015.

The backing of the AFF for Salman will come as bad news for his principal rival the UAE’s Mohammed Khalfan Al Romaithi. Also running for the office is Qatar’s Qatar’s Saoud Al-Mohannadi.

Cambodia’s Sameth wins AFF presidency

The AFF Council meeting also saw Major General Khiev Sameth from Cambodia officially take over as AFF president for a four-year term to 2023. He was previously deputy president.

Major General Sameth also asked Member Nations to support a proposal from the FA of Malaysia to appoint His Royal Highness Sultan Haji Ahmad Shah, who served as AFF President from 2011 to 2019, as the AFF Honorary President. The proposal received unanimous support.

Contact the writer of this story at moc.l1563220792labto1563220792ofdlr1563220792owedi1563220792sni@n1563220792osloh1563220792cin.l1563220792uap1563220792

Latest Tweets