Spain wrap international window with last gasp Euro qualification goal

October 16 – Spain qualified for Euro 2020 with a last-gasp 1-1 draw away to Sweden. They join Belgium, Italy, Poland, Russia and Ukraine in next year’s finals.

Swedish striker Marcus Berg struck early in the second half to hand the hosts the lead in Stockholm after Spanish goalkeeper David De Gea had made a double save to deny Berg and Emil Forsberg. The latter came close to doubling Sweden’s lead, but another De Gea intervention prevented the Swedish from taking a decisive advantage and instead a injury-time from Rodrigo ensured Spain got away from Stockholm with a late point and ticket for Euro 2020 in hand.

Belgium, Italy, Poland, Russia and Ukraine had already booked their place for next year’s European championship. The Italians completed a simple 5-0 win over minnows Liechtenstein, but had to wait until the 70th minute to rack up the goals after Federico Bernardeschi’s opening goal. Andrea Belotti, Alessio Romagnoli, Stephan El Shaarawy and Belotti again all got on the scoresheet.

The Republic of Ireland will need to beat Denmark to gain automatic qualification for the finals following a disappointing 2-0 defeat against Switzerland. Haris Seferovic and Edimilson Fernandes scored the goals for the Swiss in a game marked by a poor pitch and the second-half sending off of Irish captain Seamus Coleman. He will miss the crunch game with Denmark in November.

In other results, Norwich striker Teemu Pukki scored twice for Finland in a routine 3-0 victory over Armenia and  a late own-goal by Adnan Kovacevic dented Bosnia and Herzegovina’s chances of catching Finland as they went down 2-1 in Greece.

Contact the writer of this story, Samindra Kunti, at moc.l1600937724labto1600937724ofdlr1600937724owedi1600937724sni@o1600937724fni1600937724