Bayern take ninth consecutive title as Rummenigge prepares handover to Kahn

May 10 – Bayern Munich were crowned German champions for a ninth successive season after Robert Lewandwoski’s hat-trick helped the Bavarians to a 6-0 win over Borussia Monchengladbach and Dortmund defeated closest rivals RB Leipzig 3-2. 

Even before Hansi Flick’s team took to the field this weekend, Bayern’s domestic crown had been confirmed hours earlier when Leipzig went down at the Westfalenstadion. Dortmund’s win handed Munich their 31st German title.

This season, Bayern were totally dominant again in the Bundesliga, winning their curtain raiser 8-0 against Schalke 04 and prevailing in key clashes against both Dortmund and Leipzig. Their Polish striker Lewandowski reconfirmed that he is the most complete and ruthless number nine in the world at the moment with a goalscoring consistency that took him within a single goal of Gerd Muller’s all-time record of 40 goals in a single season. Der Bomber’s record has stood since 1972.

Even so, not everything has been hunky dory at the Allianz Arena, with coach Flick set to leave the club after just over 18 months in charge during which time he has won seven trophies and became only the second coach after Pep Guardiola at Barcelona in 2009 to win six trophies in a single calendar year. Flick had a contract at Bayern until 2023, but a rift with sporting director Hasan Salihamidzic has destabilised Bayern in 2021. The club exited the Champions League in the quarter-finals.

Flick reportedly is now in pole position to succeed Joachim Low as Germany coach this summer. He won’t be the only high-profile departure this year in Munich. After 30 years at the club, CEO Karl-Heinz Rummenigge will vacate his position in December 2021, with former Germany and Bayern captain Oliver Kahn set to replace him.

Contact the writer of this story, Samindra Kunti, at moc.l1634801539labto1634801539ofdlr1634801539owedi1634801539sni@o1634801539fni1634801539