How they qualified

Martinique qualified with relative ease for the Gold Cup in CONCACAF Nations League qualifying, finished third overall with four wins from four, with their 1-0 win in rival Guadeloupe sending them to their sixth Gold Cup.


Tournament record

They have previously qualified on five occasions, with a group stage appearance in 1993 their first attempt at the Gold Cup. A 9-0 defeat to Mexico was their harsh introduction to the Gold Cup and they failed to qualify for the next three tournaments, but surprised many in 2000 by making the Quarter-finals and only losing on penalties to eventual winners Canada.

Since then, they’ve gone out in the group stages in 2003, 2013 and 2017, but have always brought colour, skill and a sense of the unexpected to the Gold Cup.


Star men

Kevin Parsemain (pictured) is rapidly becoming a major star after four goals in two tournaments. He has been selected for the squad for this competition and will be the focal point for the Martinique attack. Defender Jordy Delem, who is making waves in Major League Soccer with Seattle Sounders.



Head coach Mario Bocaly has been able to assemble a good, strong squad, utilising a mixture of local players and players honing their craft in France and Spain.

What can we expect?

The overseas French department of Martinique has performed well above expectations in the past in the Caribbean, taking on and beating the regional heavyweights like Jamaica, Haiti and Trinidad and Tobago.

They face Canada in the opening game of the tournament in Pasadena, then possibly their best chance for a tournament win against Cuba in the second game, before rounding things off against Mexico. Progress will be difficult, but not impossible for a developing team with youth and experience, so the result against Canada could be crucial.



15 June  – Martinique v Canada

Venue: Rose Bowl, Pasadena

19 June– Cuba v Martinique

Venue: Broncos Mile High Stadium, Denver

23 June – Martinique v Mexico

Venue: Bank of America Stadium, Charlotte



Loïc Chauvet               30-04-1988     CS Case-Pilote

Arnaud Huygues         30-12-1985     Aiglon du Lamentin

Stephane Michalet       16-03-1989     US Robert


Jean-Sylvain Babin     14-10-1986     Sporting Gijón

Samuel Camille           02-02-1986     Tenerife

Rodrigue César           14-04-1988     Club Colonial

Sébastien Cretinoir      12-02-1986     Golden Lion

Jordy Delem                18-03-1993     Seattle Sounders

Audrick Linord           17-04-1987     US Robert

Yann Thimon              01-01-1990     Franciscain

Yordan Thimon           10-09-1996     Franciscain


Stéphane Abaul           23-11-1991     Franciscain

Romario Barthelery     24-06-1994     Golden Lion

Daniel Herelle             17-10-1988     Golden Lion

Wesley Jobello            23-01-1994     Gazélec Ajaccio

Joris Marveaux           15-08-1982     Gazélec Ajaccio

Karl Vitulin                 15-01-1991     AS Samaritaine


Mickael Biron             26-08-1997     Golden Lion

Kevin Fortune             06-08-1989     Troyes

Christof Jougon          10-07-1995     Franciscain

Johnny Marajo            12-10-1993     Franciscain

Kévin Parsemain         13-02-1988     Golden Lion

Grégory Pastel            18-09-1990     Riviere-Pilote

[table id=41 /]

[table id=42 /]

[table id=43 /]

[table id=44 /]

Latest Tweets