How they qualified

Mexico have never had to go through qualification for the Gold Cup and this tournament was no exception after they qualified for the Hexagonal stage of CONCACAF qualification for the 2018 World Cup, giving them automatic entry to the 2019 Gold Cup.

They topped the Hexagonal stage and impressed at the 2018 World Cup, beating Germany 1-0 in their opening game before going out in the Round of 16 to Brazil.


Tournament record

Mexico are the most successful nation in the history of the Gold Cup, having won the tournament seven times, including three of the last five editions, with their most recent triumph coming in 2015. They have never failed to get past the group stage and anything other than winning the competition is a major disappointment for Mexico.


Star Men

The Mexican squad contains a lot of experienced players who have been Gold Cup winners in the past, with Andres Guardado the most experienced with 154 caps and wins in 2011 and 2015, with his six goals helping Mexico to their most recent Gold Cup win. His experience will lead the younger players forward into this edition of the Gold Cup, as will the goals of Raul Jimenez, who has enjoyed a tremendous Premier League season with Wolverhampton Wanderers.


Gerardo Martino has managed at one of the biggest clubs in the world in Barcelona and taken Argentina and Paraguay to Copa America finals, as well as being voted MLS Coach of the Year in 2018. He took over the role as Mexico Head Coach at the beginning of 2019 and carries the weight of expectation from the Mexican nation, although four wins out of four games has been a good start for him.

What can we expect?

For Mexico, anything less than winning the Gold Cup would be deemed a disappointment. They are the top ranked CONCACAF nation and have players who have been there and done it before, so they will look to win the group, then progress through the stages towards the final. Anything less will seem like a waste of time to the Mexicans.



15 June – Mexico v Cuba

Venue: Rose Bowl, Pasadena

19 June – Mexico v Canada

Venue: Broncos Stadium at Mile High, Denver

23 June – Mexico v Martinique

Venue: Bank of America Stadium, Charlotte



Jonathan Orozco                12-05-1986         Santos Laguna

Hugo Gonzalez                     01-08-1990         Necaxa

Guillermo Ochoa                13-07-1985         Standard Liege



Nestor Araujo                       21-08-1991         Celta Vigo

Carlos Salcedo                      29-09-1993         UANL

Diego Reyes                            19-09-1992         Leganes

Hector Moreno                    17-01-1988         Real Sociedad

Cesar Montes                        24-02-1997         Monterrey

Fernando Navarro              18-04-1989         Leon

Luis Rodriguez                      21-01-1991         UANL

Jorge Sanchez                       10-12-1997         America

Jesus Gallardo                      14-08-1994         Monterrey



Edson Alverez                        24-10-1997         America

Jonathan dos Santos        26-04-1990         LA Galaxy

Orbelin Pineda                     24-03-1996         Cruz Azul

Carlos Rodriguez                 03-01-1997         Monterrey

Luis Montes                           15-05-1986         Leon

Erick Gutierrez                     17-06-1995         PSV Eindhoven

Andres Guardado               28-09-1986         Real Betis



Raul Jimenez                         05-05-1991         Wolverhampton Wanderers

Roberto Alvarado               07-09-1998         Cruz Azul

Alexis Vega                              25-11-1997         Guadalajara

Rodolfo Pizarro                   15-02-1994         Monterrey

[table id=41 /]

[table id=42 /]

[table id=43 /]

[table id=44 /]

Latest Tweets