CAF draws groups for November hosting of Women’s Champions League in Morocco

September 12 – Defending champions Mamelodi Sundowns have been drawn with Nigeria’s Bayelsa Queens, Egypt’s Wadi Degla and the representative of the Central African Football Federations’ Union (UNIFFAC) in Group B of the African Women’s Champions League. 

In Group A, Tanzania’s Simba Queens, Liberia’s Determine Girls FC and Zambia’s Green Buffaloes will be up against Morocco’s ASFAR FC, who claimed a bronze medal in the first-ever edition of the tournament last year in Egypt. Sundowns defeated Ghana’s Hasaacas Ladies 2-0 in the final to claim the first-ever gold medal.

That edition was marred by hiccups, with few sponsors, little to no broadcast coverage, and a glaring lack of prize money on offer. In July, Confederation of African Football (CAF) president Patrice Motsepe announced a $400,000 bonus for the winners of this year’s tournament. He said that the runners-up will receive $250,000. CAF also rose the prize money for the Women’s Africa Cup of Nations to $2.4 million.

Morocco will stage the second iteration of the continent’s premier women’s club competition from 30 October to 13 November.  The winners of the 2022 CAF Women’s Champions League will automatically qualify for the 2023 edition of the competition.

Group A:


Simba Queens

Determine Girls FC

Green Buffaloes

Group B:

Mamelodi Sundowns

Bayelsa Queens

Wadi Degla

UNIFFAC representative

Contact the writer of this story at moc.l1721320167labto1721320167ofdlr1721320167owedi1721320167sni@i1721320167tnuk.1721320167ardni1721320167mas1721320167