AFC unveils 22 clubs for inaugural Women’s Champions League

June 14 – The inaugural AFC Women’s Champions League will kick off this August with 22 clubs from 22 member associations making up the opening cohort of pioneering women’s teams.

The AFC has pre-seeded clubs from the top eight FIFA ranked nations directly into the Group Stage, which will see three groups of four teams play in a centralised league format from October 6 to 12.

Before that 14 clubs will compete in the Preliminary Stage of four groups – two groups of four teams and two groups of three – also to be played in a centralised league format between August 25 and 31.

The four preliminary group winners will qualify for the Group Stage proper.

The AFC has announced Jordan, Malaysia, Saudi Arabia and Thailand as hosts of one group each in the Preliminary Stage, while China and Vietnam will be hosting one group each in the Group Stage. The third host for the Group Stage will be after the Draw Ceremony on July 18.

The group stage proper will see the top two in each group and the two best third-placed sides progress to the Quarter Finals to be played on March 22 and 23, 2025.

A centralised final four will be played out from May 21 to 24, 2025.

Championing the new competition and highlighting the prize money available, the AFC said: “Set to be a thrilling showcase of top-class women’s club football, the AFC Women’s Champions League will also feature an attractive prize purse – every participating club in the Group Stage will each receive a minimum of $100,000, with additional monies available depending on their eventual placings, meaning that the first ever champions of the prestigious tournament can expect to be rewarded with at least $1.3 million.

Qualified clubs:

Rank Member Association Club
1 Japan Urawa Red Diamonds Ladies
2 DPR Korea Naegohyang Women’s FC
3 Australia Melbourne City FC
4 China PR Wuhan Jiangda Women’s FC
5 Korea Republic Hyundai Steel Red Angels Women’s FC
6 Vietnam Ho Chi Minh City Women’s FC
7 Philippines Kaya FC-Iloilo
8 Chinese Taipei Taichung Blue Whale Women’s Football Team
9 Thailand TBC*
10 Uzbekistan PFC Nasaf
11 Myanmar Myawady Women Football Club
12 Iran Bam Khatoon FC
13 India Odisha Football Club
14 Jordan Etihad Club
15 Hong Kong, China TBC*
16 Laos Young Elephants FC
17 Malaysia Sabah FA
18 Nepal APF Football Club
19 United Arab Emirates Abu Dhabi Country Club
20 Singapore Lion City Sailors FC
21 Bhutan RTC FC
22 Saudi Arabia Al Nassr Club

*clubs to be confirmed following completion of ongoing domestic competition(s)

Contact the writer of this story at moc.l1721243625labto1721243625ofdlr1721243625owedi1721243625sni@n1721243625osloh1721243625cin.l1721243625uap1721243625

Latest Tweets