Paramount+ and CBS Sports all-in for Concacaf W Championship from Moneterrey

June 24 – Every match from the Concacaf W Championship in Monterrey, Mexico, will be streamed live on Paramount+ with a number of games simulcast on sister network CBS Sports.

The highlight of the coverage of the eight-team finals – the top national team event for Concacaf teams and which will feature World Champions USA and Olympic Champions Canada – will be on-site studio coverage of the semi-finals and final from Monterrey.

CBS Sports Network said it will also simulcast select matches, including opening matches USA/Haiti and Mexico/Jamaica on July 4.

Paramount+, and CBS Sports have put together a predominantly all-female presenting, analysis and commentary team for the championships.

Poppy Miller, along with Briana Scurry, Kaylyn Kyle and Janelly Farías, will serve as studio analysts. The Semi-finals and Final will be led by Lisa Byington in commentary, with Aly Wagner as analyst. Jenny Chiu will serve as the sideline reporter for the matches.

The final will be played on July 18 at Monterrey’s Estadio BBVA, one the venues confirmed last week for the 2026 World Cup.

The W Championship is the first major competition in Concacaf’s makeover of its women’s national team competition structure that is designed to create more meaningful matches for the region’s leading teams as well as a clear competitive development platform for nations that are in the earlier stages of building their women’s programmes.

The new women’s competition programme will also include the launch of a Women’s Gold Cup in 2024 that will see leading national teams from outside the Concacaf region invited to compete against Concacaf’s elite.

The 2022 W Championship will qualify four teams for the Women’s World Cup Australia and New Zealand 2023 with the winner also qualifying for the Paris 2024 Summer Olympics.

The third placed teams in each of the two groups of four, will qualify for a 2023 World Cup Intercontinental Playoff.

At the 24-team, 2019 Women’s World Cup in France, Concacaf had three representatives; USA, Canada and Jamaica. At the expanded 32-team 2023 World Cup, if their two teams win their inter-continental play-offs, Concacaf could have six.

The eight nations at the W Championships will play as follows:

Group A: United States, Mexico, Jamaica, Haiti
Group B: Canada, Costa Rica, Panama, Trinidad and Tobago

Monday, July 4, 2022 – Estadio Universitario
19:00 (18:00) United States vs Haiti
22:00 (21:00) Mexico vs Jamaica
Tuesday, July 5, 2022 – Estadio BBVA 
19:00 (18:00) Costa Rica vs Panama
22:00 (21:00) Canada vs Trinidad and Tobago
Thursday, July 7, 2022 – Estadio BBVA 
19:00 (18:00) Jamaica vs United States
22:00 (21:00) Haiti vs Mexico
Friday, July 8, 2022 – Estadio Universitario   
19:00 (18:00) Trinidad and Tobago vs Costa Rica
22:00 (21:00) Panama vs Canada
Monday, July 11, 2022  
19:00 (18:00) Canada vs Costa Rica – Estadio BBVA
19:00 (18:00) Panama vs Trinidad and Tobago – Estadio Universitario
22:00 (21:00) Jamaica vs Haiti – Estadio BBVA
22:00 (21:00) United States vs Mexico – Estadio Universitario
Thursday, July 14, 2022 – Estadio Universitario 
19:00 (18:00) SF1: 1A vs 2B
22:00 (21:00) SF2: 1B vs 2A
Monday, July 18, 2022 – Estadio BBVA 
19:00 (18:00) 3rd: Loser SF1 vs Loser SF2
22:00 (21:00) F: Winner SF1 vs Winner SF2

Contact the writer of this story at moc.l1712950756labto1712950756ofdlr1712950756owedi1712950756sni@n1712950756osloh1712950756cin.l1712950756uap1712950756