Concacaf draws groups and sets format for 2024/25 Nations League

May 7 – USA, Mexico, Panama and Canada have been pre-seeded into the quarter finals of the 2024/25 Concacaf Nations League that will be played over two-legs in the November 11-19 international fixtures window.

The US are looking for their fourth consecutive win in the competition’s fourth edition. Mexico have been the beaten finalists twice.

Concacaf conducted the group draw for the three divisions of the 2024/25 Nations League on Monday.

With four teams already pre-seeded in League A, the remaining 12 teams will compete in two groups of six playing in the September, October and November international windows.

The top two teams in each group will qualify for the final. Costa Rica, now outside the elite of Concacaf’s top four nations will face Guatemala and Martinique as their principal challengers. Jamaica will face an ambitious Honduras and a rejuvenating Trinidad and Tobago who have at last come out of being run by a FIFA normalisation committee.

Notable absentees from the League A this edition are Haiti and El Salvador.

The 2024/25 Concacaf Nations League will serve as the qualifiers for the 2025 Concacaf Gold Cup next summer.

Matches in the group stage will be played using the ‘Swiss style’ league system  with each team playing a four games (two at home and two away).

The semi-finals and final will be played at a centralised venue March 20 and 23, 2025.

Group A: Costa Rica, Guatemala, Martinique, Guadeloupe, Suriname, and Guyana
Group B: Jamaica, Honduras, Trinidad and Tobago, Cuba, Nicaragua, and French Guiana

League B will see the 16 teams compete in four groups with each team playing each other twice. Matches will be played at a centralised venue to reduce the “travel challenges” teams in the region that teams often face.

Group B winners will be promoted to League A while the fourth placed teams will be relegated to League C.

Group A: El Salvador, Montserrat, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, and Bonaire
Group B: Curacao, Saint Lucia, Grenada, and Saint Martin
Group C: Haiti, Puerto Rico, Aruba, and Sint Maarten
Group D: Dominican Republic, Bermuda, Antigua and Barbuda, and Dominica

League C will be played in three centralised groups of three with the group winners and best second-place finisher being promoted.

Contact the writer of this story at moc.l1719307745labto1719307745ofdlr1719307745owedi1719307745sni@n1719307745osloh1719307745cin.l1719307745uap1719307745