Ronaldo stars; Angerer, Heynckes and Pele honoured at Ballon d’Or

Ronaldo and Pele

By Andrew Warshaw
January 14 – There were tears all round and heaps of respect as FIFA’s annual world player of the year award as expected went to Christiano Ronaldo, Real Madrid’s Portuguese star ending arch rival Lionel Messi’s four-year stranglehold on the prestigious prize.

This content is for Archive Access (1 year), Archive Access (6 months) and Archive Access (student) members only.
Log In Register