UEFA unveils top player nominees. Bale or Ronaldo? OL dominate women’s list

Lionel Messi UEFA player of the year

July 18 – UEFA has announced the ten-player shortlists for the 2015/16 UEFA Best Women’s and Men’s Player in Europe Awards.

The ten-player shortlist for the men is the second round of voting for the 2015/16 award.

Journalists from each of UEFA’s 55 member associations provided a list of their five best-ranked players ordered from one to five, with the first player receiving five points, the second four and so on. The ten players with the most points advanced to the second round of voting.

This will determine the three finalists to be named on Friday 5 August 2016. It is the sixth edition of the men’s award, won last season by Lionel Messi.

For the women’s awards, the shortlist was been selected by the coaches of the 12 top-ranked teams in the official UEFA women’s national team coefficient ranking, together with the coaches of the eight teams which took part in last season’s UEFA Women’s Champions League quarter-finals.

FFC Frankfurt and Germany forward Célia Šašić won last season’s award. Nine of the ten women’s nominees have played at France’s Olympic Lyonnais in the past season.

The awards jury will cast their votes in the final round for the outright winner of both the men’s and women’s awards. Winners will be announced during the 2016/17 UEFA Champions League group stage draw in Monaco on August 25.

Women’s shortlist:

Camille Abily (France, Olympique Lyonnais); Ada Hegerberg (Norway, Olympique Lyonnais); Amandine Henry (France, Olympique Lyonnais/Portland Thorns FC); Saki Kumagai (Japan, Olympique Lyonnais); Eugenie Le Sommer(France, Olympique Lyonnais); Amel Majri (Tunisia, Olympique Lyonnais); Dszenifer Marozsán(Germany, 1. FFC Frankfurt/Olympique Lyonnais); Louisa Necib (France, Olympique Lyonnais); Alexandra Popp (Germany, VfL Wolfsburg); Wendie Renard (France, Olympique Lyonnais)

Men’s shortlist:

Gareth Bale (Wales, Real Madrid CF); Gianluigi Buffon (Italy, Juventus); Antoine Griezmann (France, Club Atlético de Madrid); Toni Kroos (Germany, Real Madrid CF); Lionel Messi (Argentina, FC Barcelona); Thomas Müller (Germany, FC Bayern München); Manuel Neuer (Germany, FC Bayern München); Pepe (Portugal, Real Madrid CF); Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal, Real Madrid CF); Luis Suarez (Uruguay, FC Barcelona)

Contact the writer of this story at moc.l1719048546labto1719048546ofdlr1719048546owedi1719048546sni@n1719048546osloh1719048546cin.l1719048546uap1719048546