Navas, Dempsey, Ruiz and Chicarito battle for CONCACAF awards


December 16 – Fan voting has opened for the CONCACAF annual awards, the fourth time the awards have been held.

For the Male player of the Year award three Costa Ricans, including veteran striker Bryan Ruiz and standout goalkeeper Kaylor Navas, go up against two American (another veteran Clint Dempsey is nominated), two Mexicans (including a rejuventated Javier Hernandez), a Honduran and Jamaica’s captain Wes Morgan.

The Female player of the Year awards are dominated by seven Americans who are up against two Costa Ricans and one Canadian.

Fans will also be able to vote for their best Male and Female XI.

This year’s award categories are:

  • Male Player of the Year
  • Female Player of the Year
  • Male Goalkeeper of the Year
  • Female Goalkeeper of the Year
  • Male Coach of the Year
  • Female Coach of the Year
  • Male Referee of the Year
  • Female Referee of the Year
  • Male Best XI
  • CONCACAF Female Best XI
  • CONCACAF Goal of the Year

Fan voting is conducted through at which also shows video lips of the players’ best moments in CONCACAF competition.

Contact the writer of this story at moc.l1713954548labto1713954548ofdlr1713954548owedi1713954548sni@n1713954548osloh1713954548cin.l1713954548uap1713954548