Guatemala to host Concacaf Futsal finals as nations seek World Cup 2021 slots

February 12 –  Concacaf will hold its 2021 Futsal Championship will take place in Guatemala City, Guatemala, May 3-9, 2021. 

The 16-team tournament will qualify four nations to the Futsal World Cup Lithuania 2021. The Concacaf tournament will be played at the Domo Polideportivo and Teodoro Palacios Flores Gymnasium that were host venues for the 2000 FIFA Futsal World Cup.

“We are very pleased to confirm that the Concacaf Futsal Championship will take place in Guatemala City. The Guatemalan Football Federation has a very good track record of hosting major Futsal competitions and we know they will deliver a great event,” said Concacaf General Secretary Philippe Moggio.

The 16-team group stage will be played May 3-5, with the top two group finshers going to the quarterfinals. The four semi-finalists will qualify for the Lithuania 2021 to be played in September/October.

“We are proud that Concacaf has confirmed Guatemala as the host for the Concacaf Futsal Championship,” said Fedefut President Gerardo Paiz. “We will be delighted to welcome the National Teams of the region and look forward to working together with Concacaf to make the event a success.”

The 16-team group stage will take place between May 3-5. After round-robin play, the first and second place finishers in each group will advance to the quarterfinals.

The group draw was actually made in February 2020, before Concacaf was forced to put the competition back a year as the pandemic ate its way through the regional football calendar.

Guatemala, Panama, Costa Rica (current title holders) and Cuba go into the tournament as the top four ranked nations.

Group Draw

Group A
Guatemala, Trinidad and Tobago, Guadeloupe, Martinique

Group B
Panama, Mexico, Suriname, French Guiana

Group C
Costa Rica, Canada, Haiti, Dominican Republic

Group D
Cuba, United States, El Salvador, Nicaragua

Contact the writer of this story at moc.l1656922244labto1656922244ofdlr1656922244owedi1656922244sni@n1656922244osloh1656922244cin.l1656922244uap1656922244