UEFA draws groups for 2023 Women’s World Cup qualifiers

April 30 – A record number of 51 nations were in the the European qualifying draw for the 2023 Women’s World Cup held at UEFA headquarters in Nyon today.

Drawn into nine groups (six of six team and three of five), UEFA will qualify the nine group winners directly with the nine runners up going into a series of play-offs for two further spots. The third placed team will go through to an inter-continental play-off.

The 2023 Women’s World Cup will be jointly hosted in Australia and New Zealand and for the first time will be expanded to 32 teams. The European qualifiers will be played between September 2021 and September 2022. Match dates have yet to be announced.

Qualifying groups

Group A: Sweden, Finland, Republic of Ireland, Slovakia, Georgia

Group B: Spain, Scotland, Ukraine, Hungary, Faroe Islands

Group C: Netherlands, Iceland, Czech Republic, Belarus, Cyprus

Group D: England, Austria, Northern Ireland, North Macedonia, Latvia, Luxembourg

Group E: Denmark, Russia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Azerbaijan, Malta, Montenegro

Group F: Norway, Belgium, Poland, Albania, Kosovo, Armenia

Group G: Italy, Switzerland, Romania, Croatia, Moldova, Lithuania

Group H: Germany, Portugal, Serbia, Israel, Turkey, Bulgaria

Group I: France, Wales, Slovenia, Greece, Kazakhstan, Estonia

Before the World Cup qualifiers are completed, the 2022 Women’s European Champions will be held in England. Teams qualified are: Austria, Belgium, Denmark, England (hosts), Finland, France, Germany, Iceland, Italy, Netherlands (holders), Northern Ireland, Norway, Russia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland.

Contact the writer of this story at moc.l1709527889labto1709527889ofdlr1709527889owedi1709527889sni@n1709527889osloh1709527889cin.l1709527889uap1709527889