FIFA names venues and schedule for Australia/New Zealand 2023 Women’s World Cup

December 2 – FIFA has released the match schedule for the 2023 Women’s World Cup in Australia and New Zealand, with Auckland staging the opening game and Sydney hosting the final.

FIFA has confirmed nine host cities at 10 stadiums for the 23 July to 20 August event.

Five Australian cities – Sydney, Perth, Melbourne, Brisbane and Adelaide – and four in New Zealand – Auckland, Wellington, Dunedin and Hamilton – will stage games. Australia will host 35 in all and New Zealand 29.

Sydney will host 11 matches in total, with Auckland and Wellington hosting nine each, while Brisbane has been scheduled for eight games.

Australia and New Zealand will also host one semi-final each at Stadium Australia and Eden Park respectively, while the match for third place will take place at Brisbane Stadium, Australia.

“The announcement of the eagerly awaited match schedule today adds to the excitement around the tournament and we are looking forward to seeing the nine Host Cities and ten stadiums that will set the stage for women’s football to go Beyond Greatness,” said FIFA Secretary General Fatma Samoura

Australia’s Minister for Sport Richard Colbeck added: “The tournament will embody the nation’s passion for women’s football and provide Australians with the opportunity to watch, and be inspired by, the best footballers in the world. It is a great privilege for Australia to host 35 matches, including the final – a sporting showcase that will reinforce our growing reputation as a major events host.”

His New Zealand counterpart Grant Robertson issued similar sentiments.

“Gaining an equal share of the group-stage matches with Australia is really exciting and will ensure more of our sports-mad nation can enjoy this once-in-a-lifetime event in our backyard,” he said.

Contact the writer of this story at moc.l1652677414labto1652677414ofdlr1652677414owedi1652677414sni@w1652677414ahsra1652677414w.wer1652677414dna1652677414