No Mo Sala as European-based players dominate voting for 2021 FIFA FIFPRO World 11 squads

December 15 – European-based players make up every member of the men’s FIFA FIFPRO final 23 players who have received the most votes to date for the 2021 World 11. Only four selections in the 23-player women’s equivalent, play outside Europe.

It once again demonstrates where the balance of power rests in world football.

Looking at nationalities, 13 of the 23 women’s squad are Europeans, while in the men’s squad only five players play their national team football for a non-European nation.

This is the first time FIFPRO has reduced the shortlist of the most-voted players from 55 to 23, reflecting the size of a real-life squad for international competitions.

The players were selected by their peers, with professional footballers worldwide asked to vote for the World 11 by picking the three players who in their opinion where the most outstanding players during the 2020/2021 season in the following positions: goalkeepers, defenders, midfielders, and forwards.

Remarkably neither of the Liverpool striking duo of Mo Salah or Sadio Mane make the men’s squad, but hardy perennials Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo both do. After all, it would hardly be a FIFA Awards bash without these toward their star power.

The final World 11s for both men and women will be announced at The Best FIFA Football Awards on 17 January 2022.

The 23 players in the Men’s World 11 squad are: 
In alphabetical order: 

Alisson Becker (Brazil/Liverpool FC)
Gianluigi Donnarumma (Italy/AC Milan/Paris Saint-Germain)
Édouard Mendy (Senegal/Chelsea FC)

David Alaba (Austria/FC Bayern München/Real Madrid CF)
Jordi Alba (Spain/FC Barcelona)
Trent Alexander-Arnold (England/Liverpool FC)
Dani Alves (Brazil/São Paulo FC/FC Barcelona)
Leonardo Bonucci (Italy/Juventus FC)
Rúben Dias (Portugal/Manchester City FC)

Sergio Busquets (Spain/FC Barcelona)
Kevin De Bruyne (Belgium/Manchester City FC)
Bruno Fernandes (Portugal/Manchester United FC)
Frenkie de Jong (Netherlands/FC Barcelona)
Jorginho (Italy/Chelsea FC)
N’Golo Kante (France/Chelsea FC)

Karim Benzema (France/Real Madrid CF)
Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal/Juventus FC/Manchester United FC)
Erling Haaland (Norway/ BV Borussia 09 Dortmund)
Robert Lewandowski (Poland/FC Bayern München)
Romelu Lukaku (Belgium/FC Internazionale Milano/Chelsea FC)
Kylian Mbappé (France/Paris Saint-Germain)
Lionel Messi (Argentina/FC Barcelona/Paris Saint-Germain)
Neymar (Brazil/Paris Saint-Germain)

The 23 players in the Women’s World 11 squad are: 
In alphabetical order:

Laura Benkarth (Germany/FC Bayern München)
Ann-Katrin Berger (Germany/Chelsea FC Women)
Christiane Endler (Chile/Paris Saint-Germain/Olympique Lyonnais)

Millie Bright (England/Chelsea FC Women)
Lucy Bronze (England/Manchester City WFC)
Kadeisha Buchanan (Canada/Olympique Lyonnais)
Ellie Carpenter (Australia/Olympique Lyonnais)
Magdalena Eriksson (Sweden/Chelsea FC Women)
Irene Paredes (Spain/FC Barcelona)
Wendie Renard (France/Olympique Lyonnais)

Estefania Banini (Argentina/Levante UD/Atlético de Madrid Femenino)
Barbara Bonansea (Italy/Juventus FC Women)
Aitana Bonmati (Spain/FC Barcelona)
Delphine Cascarino (France/Olympique Lyonnais)
Carli Lloyd (USA/NJ/NY Gotham FC)
Alexia Putellas (Spain/FC Barcelona)

Pernille Harder (Denmark/Chelsea FC Women)
Samantha Kerr (Australia/Chelsea FC Women)
Marta (Brazil/Orlando Pride)
Vivianne Miedema (Netherlands/Arsenal WFC)
Alex Morgan (USA/Tottenham Hotspur FC Women/Orlando Pride/San Diego Wave)
Gabrielle Onguene (Cameroon/CSKA Moscow)
Megan Rapinoe (USA/OL Reign)

Contact the writer of this story at moc.l1660471468labto1660471468ofdlr1660471468owedi1660471468sni@n1660471468osloh1660471468cin.l1660471468uap1660471468