Concacaf sets June start for second Nations League

February 4 – Concacaf will kick off their 2022/23 Concacaf Nations League, its second edition, in June 2022 with the finals scheduled for the summer of 2023.

The group stage will continue to be played in a three League format (League A, League B and League C), with home and away round robin play on the international match windows in June 2022 (double window) and March 2023.

All eight teams currently competing in the final qualification stage for Qatar 2022 will play in the 12-team League A. El Salvador, Jamaica, Grenada and Suriname have moved up to Group A, trading plaaces with Bermuda, Cuba, Haiti and the free falling Trinidad and Tobago.

All 41 Concacaf nations will play in the competition. League B will have 16 teams and League C will have 13. The draw for the groups will be held April 4.

“The first edition of the Concacaf Nations League was a huge success, and this competition has already transformed men’s national team football in our region,” said Concacaf president, Victor Montagliani.

“Where previously teams had limited opportunities to play and compete, the Nations League provides a consistent set of official matches for every Member Association in Concacaf. Players can look forward to regional rivalries, coaches can test themselves against the best in Concacaf and fans in all 41 nations can follow their teams with pride.”
“By including qualification to the Gold Cup, and promotion and relegation between editions, there is a competitive edge throughout this tournament.”

The Nations League group stage will serve as the qualifier for the 2023 Concacaf Gold Cup – the exact qualification process will be announced prior to the start of the group stage.

Leagues and teams:

League A (12 teams): Canada, Costa Rica, Curaçao, El Salvador (promoted), Grenada (promoted), Honduras, Jamaica (promoted), Martinique, Mexico, Panama, Suriname (promoted) and United States.

League B (16 teams): Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas (promoted), Barbados (promoted), Belize, Bermuda (relegated), Cuba (relegated), Dominican Republic, French Guiana, Guadeloupe (promoted), Guatemala (promoted), Guyana, Haiti (relegated), Montserrat, Nicaragua, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines and Trinidad and Tobago (relegated).

League C (13 teams): Anguilla, Aruba (relegated), Bonaire, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Dominica (relegated), Puerto Rico, Saint Kitts and Nevis (relegated), Saint Lucia (relegated), Saint Martin, Sint Maarten, Turks and Caicos Islands and U.S. Virgin Islands.

Contact the writer of this story at moc.l1656725217labto1656725217ofdlr1656725217owedi1656725217sni@n1656725217osloh1656725217cin.l1656725217uap1656725217