Concacaf U15 Girls head for Florida for 19-nation development tournament

July 28 – Concacaf has released the schedule and groups for the 19-nation 2022 Concacaf Girls’ U-15 Championship to be played July 31 to August 7 in Tampa, Florida. 

The 44 matches of the weeklong competition will all take place at the Hillsborough County Tournament Sportsplex with more than 350 girls participating.

This is is the fourth edition of the Concacaf Girls’ U-15 Championship The last edition took place in 2018, in Bradenton, Florida. The U15 tournament is an important development stage for Concacaf’s nations as the confederation develops its women’s football eco-system that started in earnest earlier this month with the expanded Concacaf W Championship in Monterrey, Mexico.

The United States won its second title at this age level after defeating Mexico 3-0 in the League A Final. The 2020 edition of the competition was canceled due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

Concacaf said that “to ensure sporting balance and fully leverage this exceptional development opportunity for all young players, the participating teams have been divided into two leagues (according to their Concacaf Women’s Under-17 Ranking of May 2022) and sub-divided into groups.”

The Leagues and groups are:

League A 
Group A: Mexico, Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, Wales
Group B: United States, Canada, Jamaica, Puerto Rico
League B 
Group C: Bermuda, Belize, Anguilla, Martinique
Group D: Honduras, Bahamas, US Virgin Islands, Aruba
Group E: Nicaragua, Guyana, Turks and Caicos Islands, Cayman Islands

Groups will be played in a round-robin format. For League A, the group winners and second place finishers will advance to the semi-finals on August 5, followed by the Final on August 7. League B will follow a similar format, with the group winners (three) and the best second place finisher advancing to the semi-finals.

Contact the writer of this story at moc.l1716530657labto1716530657ofdlr1716530657owedi1716530657sni@n1716530657osloh1716530657cin.l1716530657uap1716530657