FIFA opens voting for 2023 goal of the year

September 25 – FIFA has opened voting for the 2023 Puskas Award, given to the scorer of the world’s best goal last season between December 19, 2022 and August 20, 2023.

The award, which comes as part of FIFA’s ‘The Best’ series, bears the name of the iconic Hungarian forward, Ferenc Puskás, renowned for his extraordinary individual goals.

This year’s list features a variety of goals, from mouth-watering displays of teamwork to out-of-your-seat, long-range screamers. Notably, three of the nominations were scored during the Women’s World Cup 2023 last summer.

The winner of the Award will be selected by an international jury comprising of a specially selected panel of FIFA Legends, alongside fans who are voting worldwide.

Each of the two groups of voters within the jury has the same electoral weight irrespective of the actual number of voters in those groups. Voting closesOctober 10.

There are eleven contenders for the award this year, and they are available to watch by clicking here

Full list:

Sam Kerr (vs England)

Julio Enciso (vs Man City)

Alvaro Barreal (vs Pittsburgh Riverhounds)

Linda Caicedo (vs Germany)

Seong-jin Kang (vs Jordan U-20)

Brian Lozano (vs America)

Guilherme Madruga (vs Novorizontino)

Ivan Morante (vs Burgos)

Nuno Santos (vs Boavista)

Askhat Tagybergen (vs Denmark)

Bia Zaneratto (vs Panama)

Previous winners of the award include strikes from a Santos-clad Neymar Junior, Mohammed Salah and Son Heung-min. The beauty of the award, though, is that anybody can win regardless of gender or disability. Last year’s award was presented to Polish amputee Marcin Oleksy for an outstanding acrobatic effort using his crutches, marking the first time the award has been given to a disabled player.

Contact the writer of the story, Harry Ewing, at moc.l1700946858labto1700946858ofdlr1700946858owedi1700946858sni@g1700946858niwe.1700946858yrrah1700946858