Copa America 2024 in the US to be played in 14 stadia across 10 states

December 5 – The Copa America in the USA in the summer of 2024 will be played in 14 cities across 10 states. The 32-game tournament will be a tour of the biggest and best stadia the US has to offer with only three of the 14 stadiums having a capacity of less than 65,000.

The 48th edition of the oldest international tournament in the world will open on June 20 at the Mercedes Benz Stadium in Atlanta and close July 10 at the Hard Rock Stadium in Miami.

In between the tournament will make stops including at the Allegiant in Las Vegas, the Levi and SoFi Stadiums in California, the State Farm Stadium in Glendale, Arizona, the AT&T in Arlington, Texas, the NRG Stadium in Houston and the Met Life Stadium in New York.

“The passion of football will run through this great country from east to west and from north to south, bringing excitement and fun to hundreds of thousands of fans at the venues and millions of spectators around the world,” said Alejandro Dominguez, president of Conmebol.

The 16 teams – 10 from Conmebol and six from Concacaf – will play in four groups. Two groups will play in the west and centre of the country, and two groups in the east and centre. The competition will move in an easterly direction, with the quarterfinals to be played in the west and centre, while the semi-final and final will take place in the east.

“These venues are world-class and have passionate fans who are renowned for getting behind major events,” said Victor Montagliani, Concacaf President and FIFA Vice President. “The exciting prospect of co-organising the Copa America 2024 with our partners at Conmebol, in addition to the range of Concacaf competitions we will deliver in the next three years, will cement our region as a global hub for football as we head towards the FIFA World Cup 2026.”

The six Concacaf teams joining the 10 South Americans include the United States, Jamaica, Mexico and Panama. The other two Concacaf nations will be decided by a

Play-In between Canada vs Trinidad and Tobago, and Costa Rica vs Honduras in March.

The 14 host stadiums in alphabetical order are:

  • Allegiant Stadium, Las Vegas, Nevada
  • AT&T Stadium, Arlington, Texas
  • Bank of America Stadium, Charlotte, North Carolina
  • Children’s Mercy Park, Kansas City, Kansas
  • Exploria Stadium, Orlando, Florida
  • GEHA Field at Arrowhead Stadium, Kansas City, Missouri
  • Hard Rock Stadium, Miami Gardens, Florida
  • Levi’s Stadium, Santa Clara, California
  • Mercedes-Benz Stadium, Atlanta, Georgia
  • MetLife Stadium, East Rutherford, New Jersey
  • NRG Stadium, Houston, Texas
  • Q2 Stadium, Austin, Texas
  • SoFi Stadium, Inglewood, California
  • State Farm Stadium, Glendale, Arizona

Contact the writer of this story at moc.l1716800546labto1716800546ofdlr1716800546owedi1716800546sni@n1716800546osloh1716800546cin.l1716800546uap1716800546