FIFA Best awards programmed for January in London

December 11 – London will host The Best FIFA Football Awards 2023 on January 15, 2024. 

The awards ceremony will acknowledge top football players, coaches, fans, exceptional goals, and fair play instances in the sport.

London previously hosted the awards in 2016 and 2017, making it the third time the city has been chosen as the ceremony’s venue.

Nominees for eight categories were announced in September 2023, with three finalists selected in most categories by an international jury. This jury consisted of national team coaches, captains, specialist journalists, and fans who voted on FIFA’s official website.

The voting process involved equal contributions from these four groups, each accounting for 25% of the total vote count, regardless of the number of participants in each group.

FIFA will announce the finalists for key award categories over the coming weeks.

The following eleven awards will be presented at the ceremony:

  • The Best FIFA Women’s Player
  • The Best FIFA Men’s Player
  • The Best FIFA Women’s Coach
  • The Best FIFA Men’s Coach
  • The Best FIFA Women’s Goalkeeper
  • The Best FIFA Men’s Goalkeeper
  • FIFA Puskás Award (awarded for the best goal of the year)
  • FIFA Fan Award
  • FIFA Fair Play Award
  • FIFA FIFPRO Women’s World 11
  • FIFA FIFPRO Men’s World 11

World Cup winners Lionel Messi and Alexia Putellas earned the award in 2022, with the former in a good position to land this year’s award, too.

Contact the writer of this story, Harry Ewing, at moc.l1713124233labto1713124233ofdlr1713124233owedi1713124233sni@g1713124233niwe.1713124233yrrah1713124233