Concacaf set for 2024 Champions Cup draw with clubs eyeing 2024 and 2025 Club World Cup slots

December 13 – Concacaf is readying for the 2024 Champions Cup draw later today that will decide the first two rounds of the knockout competition, the re-versioned Champions League competition for Concacaf’s leading clubs that is returning to its original name.

The 59th edition of the Concacaf Champions Cup will be played between February and June 2024.

The first four rounds (Round One, Round of 16, Quarterfinals, and Semifinals), all include home and away play, while the Final is played as a single-leg match.

The winners of the 2024 Champions Cup will qualify for the 2024 Club World Cup as well as the expanded 2025 Club World Club which will feature 32 teams (four from Concacaf) and will be played in the US.

2023 Concacaf Champions Cup winners Club Leon (who play at the 2023 Club World Cup in Saudi Arabia later this week) have secured a berth in the expanded 2025 FIFA Club World Cup, joining the 2021 and 2022 champions, CF Monterrey (Mexico) and Seattle Sounders FC (USA), respectively.

There are 27 clubs qualified for the 2024 Champions Cup via three new regional cups in North America, Central America, and the Caribbean , as well as domestic leagues and cups for Canada, Mexico, and the United States. These clubs are, in alphabetical order per tournament:

  • Canadian Championship (1): Vancouver Whitecaps FC (CAN)
  • Canadian Premier League (2): Cavalry FC (CAN) and Forge FC (CAN)
  • Concacaf Caribbean Cup (3): Cavalier FC (JAM), Moca FC (DOM), and SV Robinhood (SUR)
  • Concacaf Central American Cup (6): CA Independiente (PAN), Comunicaciones FC (GUA), CS Herediano (CRC), Deportivo Saprissa (CRC), LD Alajuelense (CRC), and Real Estelí FC (NCA)
  • Leagues Cup (3): Inter Miami CF (USA), Nashville SC (USA) and Philadelphia Union (USA)
  • Liga MX (6): CD Guadalajara (MEX), CF Monterrey (MEX), CF Pachuca (MEX), Club América (MEX), Deportivo Toluca (MEX), and Tigres UANL (MEX)
  • MLS (5): Columbus Crew (USA), FC Cincinnati (USA), New England Revolution (USA), Orlando City SC (USA), and St. Louis CITY SC (USA)
  • US Open Cup (1): Houston Dynamo FC (USA)

Of the 27 clubs, 22 begin play in Round One, while five – LD Alajuelense (2023 Concacaf Central American Cup champion), SV Robinhood (2023 Concacaf Caribbean Cup champion); Inter Miami CF (2023 Leagues Cup champion), CF Pachuca (2022/23 Liga MX champion with the most accumulated points), and Columbus Crew (2023 MLS Cup champions) – have received a bye to the Round of 16.

Contact the writer of this story at moc.l1713605689labto1713605689ofdlr1713605689owedi1713605689sni@n1713605689osloh1713605689cin.l1713605689uap1713605689