FIFA database names and shames clubs banned from signing new players

January 12 – FIFA has published a new database of clubs serving bans on registering new players.

The sanctioned clubs include San Lorenzo of Argentina, Wydad of Morocco and TP Mazembe of Congo who have all won continental championships and then played at the Club World Cup.

Clubs banned from registering players – in cases often called “transfer bans” – can sign new players though are prevented from fielding them for a certain amount of time.

The current list features three of the eight clubs who played in the inaugural African Football League this season – Wydad of Morocco, Esperance of Tunisia and TP Mazembe of Congo. Another African powerhouse, Zamalek of Egypt, are included though details of all their cases are not published.

“The primary objective of this new tool is to provide stakeholders, including players and clubs, as well as the general public, with an overview of all clubs currently prevented from registering new players,” FIFA said in a statement.

Contact the writer of this story at moc.l1721804250labto1721804250ofdlr1721804250owedi1721804250sni@w1721804250ahsra1721804250w.wer1721804250dna1721804250