FIFA warms up interest in Club World Cup with qualification tracker

February 29 – FIFA has launched an online tool to help fans track their team’s qualification for the maiden 2025 Club World Cup (FIFA is calling it the Mundial de Clubes) to be played in the US next year.

The tool charts which teams around the world have qualified or are still in the running to be one of the 32 sides that will take part in the competition.

It also shows how clubs qualify, as well as the available slots and the qualification criteria for each confederation ahead of the tournament to be held between 15 June and 13 July 2025.

The Club World Cup revamp means that the team roster for the competition expands from eight to 32, though has not been universally popular within all stakeholders, coming under fire from Fifpro and LaLiga for further congesting the players’ match schedules who have accused FIFA of prioritising money over player welfare).

On February 14, 2023, the FIFA Council approved slot allocations for the 2025 tournament using “objective metrics and criteria.” UEFA received the most slots (12), followed by CONMEBOL with six. AFC, CAF, and CONCACAF were each granted four slots, while OFC and the host association received one slot each.

The qualification process is as follows:

CONMEBOL and UEFA (more than four slots): Winners of the top club competition from 2021 to 2024, with additional teams chosen based on a club ranking over the four-year period.

AFC, CAF, and CONCACAF (four slots each): Winners of the top confederationclub competition between 2021 and 2024.

OFC (one slot): The highest-ranked club among the winners of the top club competition between 2021 and 2024.

Host country: one slot.

The clubs that have already qualified for the first edition are:

Africa (CAF)

Wydad Athletic Club (Morocco)

Al Ahly SC (Egypt)

Asia (AFC)

Al Hilal SFC (Saudi Arabia)

Urawa Red Diamonds (Japan)

Europe (UEFA)

Chelsea FC (England)

Real Madrid CF (Spain)

Manchester City FC (England)

FC Bayern München (Germany)

Paris Saint-Germain FC (France)

FC Internazionale Milano (Italy)

FC Porto (Portugal)

SL Benfica (Portugal)

North and Central America, Caribbean (Concacaf)

CF Monterrey (Mexico)

Seattle Sounders FC (United States)

Club León (Mexico)

Oceania (OFC)

Auckland City FC (New Zealand)

South America (Conmebol)

SE Palmeiras (Brazil)

CR Flamengo (Brazil)

Fluminense FC (Brazil)

Contact the writer of this story, Harry Ewing, at moc.l1716022246labto1716022246ofdlr1716022246owedi1716022246sni@g1716022246niwe.1716022246yrrah1716022246