Spain and Aitana Bonmati dominate Laureus Awards

April 23 – Spain dominated the Laureus Awards with the 2023 Women’s World Champions taking home the Team of the Year award and midfielder Aitana Bonmati named Sportswoman of the Year.

The reigning women’s world champions were the first all-female team to win the World Team of the Year award. Last year, they defeated England 2-1 in the final of the 32-team tournament to claim the World Cup for the first time.

“Our national team is a group like no other – our strength comes from every challenge we have faced, both on and off the field of play,” said Bonmati. “I believe we have met them all, and I hope that we can be an inspiration to young girls in Spain and around the world, to not just take up football but participate in sport and enjoy all the benefits it brings.”

Playing in every one of Spain’s matches and orchestrating midfield play, Bonmati was rewarded for her vital role in the team as she won the Sportswoman of the Year award. In Australia and New Zealand, she won the Golden Ball for the best player at the World Cup. She also helped Barcelona win their second Champions League trophy in the 2022-23 season and won FIFA’s The Best and Ballon d’Or awards.

She joined a list of winners, including Serena Williams, Simone Biles, Lindsey Vonn, Naomi Osaka and Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce. “To be the first footballer to win this award makes it even more special and I hope to represent my sport in the same way that those great champions have done,” said Bonmati. “They are all incredible athletes who have not only excelled in their chosen sports but been incredible role models for younger generations of young women and girls.” 

Real Madrid star Jude Bellingham won breakthrough sportsperson of the year thanks to his lightning start to life in the capital.

Speaking via Instagram to his 30 million followers, Bellingham said: “What an honour to spend the evening with so many of my sporting heroes at such a prestigious event and to collect the World Breakthrough of the Year award.”

Contact the writer of this story at moc.l1716033259labto1716033259ofdlr1716033259owedi1716033259sni@i1716033259tnuk.1716033259ardni1716033259mas1716033259