21 days to go to the AFC Asian Cup, UAE 2019

AFC names candidates for FIFA Council seats

June 10 – The Asian Football Confederation (AFC) has announced the eight candidates who will contest the election for the three available Asia places on on the new FIFA Council.

The election will be held at the AFC Extraordinary Congress on September 27 in Goa, India. At least one of those three places must be filled by a woman.

The candidates have now been submitted to the FIFA Review Committee to carry out the eligibility check.

Those standing represent a good mix of east and west Asia. Australia’s Moya Dodd, one of the first women to serve on FIFA’s ‘old’ executive committee as a co-opted women’s representative, is standing for a council seat.

The nominated candidates are:

A.  FIFA Council Members

  1.       Zhang Jian (China PR)
  2.       Ali Kafashian Naeni (Islamic Republic of Iran)
  3.       Mong Gyu Chung (Korea Republic)
  4.       Saoud A.Aziz Al-Mohannadi (Qatar)
  5.       Zainudin Nordin (Singapore)

B. FIFA Female Council Member

  1.       Moya Dodd (Australia)
  2.       Mahfuza Ahkter (Bangladesh)
  3.       Han Un Gyong (DPR Korea)

The AFC Electoral Committee of Chairperson F Randall Cunliffe (Guam) and Deputy Chairpersons Dr Hamid Al-Shaibani (Yemen) and Muhannad Fahmi Hamad (Bahrain), will oversee the running and supervision of the election.

Contact the writer of this story at moc.l1544754823labto1544754823ofdlr1544754823owedi1544754823sni@n1544754823osloh1544754823cin.l1544754823uap1544754823

Latest Tweets