19 days to go to the AFC Asian Cup, UAE 2019

Khribin and Kerr head AFC final three nominees for Player of Year awards

September 18 – Omar Khribin and Samantha Kerr have been rewarded for their outstanding displays throughout 2017 by being named among the nominees for this year’s Asian Football Confederation (AFC) Player of the Year Award in the men’s and women’s categories.

Al Hilal and Syria striker Khribin finds himself in line to win the accolade following a superb season during which he has scored goals aplenty for both club and country. He is up against last year’s winner Al Ain and UAE attacking midfielder and Shanghai SIPG’s all-time top goalscorer Wu Lei from China who at 25 has scored 140 goals – he debuted for the club aged 14. He was also a final three nominee for the 2016 awards.

In the women’s award Asutralia’s Samantah Kerr has enjoyed a similarly rich vein of form to Khribin with American National Women’s Soccer League outfit Sky Blue FC and Australia.

She is up against North Korea’s 20 year-old striking sensation Sung Hyang-sim and Japan’s central defender Saki Kumagai who plays her club football for all conquering Olympique Lyonnais in France.

This year’s annual celebration of the stars of Asian football will take place in Bangkok, Thailand on November 29.

The nominees are:


Wu Lei (China)

Omar Khribin (Syria)

Omar Abdulrahman (United Arab Emirates)


Samantha Kerr (Australia)

Sung Hyang-sim (North Korea)

Saki Kumagai (Japan)

Contact the writer of this story at moc.l1544937644labto1544937644ofdlr1544937644owedi1544937644sni@o1544937644fni1544937644