Liverpool sweep Bayern aside to make it 4 English teams in Champions League last 8

March 14 – For the first time in 10 seasons, half the Champions League quarterfinalists are from one single country, with the Premier League providing four clubs in Friday’s eagerly awaited draw.

Manchester City, Manchester United, Liverpool and Tottenham join Barcelona, Juventus, Ajax and Porto in the draw with the mouth-watering prospect of two English teams lining up against one another.

Back in the 2000s for two successive seasons England provided four quarter-finalists on the biggest stage of all and now it has happened again. But no English team has won the competition since Chelsea in 2012 with Liverpool losing to Real Madrid in last season’s final.

In recent years, Spain has dominated the tournament but Real’s three-year reign is over and Barca are the only Spanish side left though no-one will want to play Messi and co.

Contact the writer of this story at moc.l1590595177labto1590595177ofdlr1590595177owedi1590595177sni@w1590595177ahsra1590595177w.wer1590595177dna1590595177