US to host eight-team Women’s Olympic qualifiers

November 6 – The United States will host the 2020 Concacaf Women’s Olympic Qualifying Tournament January 28 – February 9. The competition will qualify two teams for the Tokyo 2020 Olympics. The official draw and host cities announcement will take place this Thursday.

The eight participating teams will play in two groups of four with the top two advancing to the semi-finals. Both semi-finals winners will qualify for the Tokyo Olympic tournament.

At the last Concacaf Women’s Olympic Qualifying Tournament, hosted in Houston and Frisco in 2016, the US beart Canada 2-0 in the final to win their 4th title.

They will start as favourites again following their dominant World Cup 2019 winning performance in France with Canada again expected to be their biggest challengers, though Mexico will also be keen to reverse their recent fortunes at women’s national team level.

They will face Haiti, Jamaica and Saint Kitts and Nevis who topped their groups in the Caribbean qualifiers.  Costa Rica and Panama qualified from Central America.

“The Concacaf Women’s Olympic Qualifying tournament is a hugely exciting competition that will showcase the very best of elite women’s football. It will provide a great opportunity for fans to enjoy watching current FIFA World Champions the United States, and fellow 2019 World Cup participants Canada and Jamaica, as they compete with the region’s best for the honour of representing their nation at Tokyo 2020.” said Concacaf president Victor Montagliani.

Contact the writer of this story at moc.l1596530098labto1596530098ofdlr1596530098owedi1596530098sni@n1596530098osloh1596530098cin.l1596530098uap1596530098