FIFAe Nations Cup to 60 countries battling for the 24 final slots in Denmark

April 16 – FIFA has announced total of 60 national teams will participate in the FIFAe Nations Series 2021 with the final to take place from August 20-22 in Copenhagen, Denmark.

The entry figure is a 200% increase in participating associations who are competing for a total prize pool of $500,000. Of this $400,000 will be won at the final event.

The final tournament will feature 24 teams (three players per team) who will qualify via five regional online qualifiers to be played between April 22 and May 23.

The three player teams will pay 2 vs 2 matches but with the ability to make a substitution bringing an added tactical opportunity.

Brent Koning, Group Director & Commissioner, EA SPORTS FIFA Competitive Gaming said: “International competition has the unique ability to captivate fans as pride for your home nation gives all a reason to watch. FIFA esports continues to help grow the love of the sport and the FIFAe Nations Cup will continue to do so with this entertaining international competition.”

Denmark qualify for the finals automatically as host nation. At the inaugural tournament in 2019, involving 20 national teams in London, France beat Argentina in the final.

Jakob Jensen, CEO of the Danish Football Association, said: “We are happy and proud, that Copenhagen will host the FIFAe Nations Cup 2021. We are looking forward to hosting one of the biggest FIFAe tournaments in the world, where world class players, including our own Danish players, will create the action, drama and excitement.”

Contact the writer of this story at moc.l1637981594labto1637981594ofdlr1637981594owedi1637981594sni@n1637981594osloh1637981594cin.l1637981594uap1637981594