LigaMX clubs continue CCL run with Monterrey to host Club America, October 28

September 24 – Mexican clubs are set to retain their grip on the Concacaf Champions League for a remarkable thirteenth consecutive season, with LigaMX sides Club America and Monterrey now scheduled to play off in the final at the BBVA Stadium in Monterrey on October 28.

Club America made it through to the final by beating the last MLS challenger in the competition, Philadelphia Union, 4-0 on aggregate (both matches were convincing 2-0 wins).
CF Monterrey beat Cruz Azul 4-1 in their second leg semi-final at the Estadio Azteca to complete a 5-1 win on aggregate.

Club America and Monterrey have been giants of the Concacaf Champions League era that began in 2008. Monterrey last won the title in 2019 and will be bidding for their fifth title overall. Club America have won the title twice, the last time in the 2015/16 season.

Current champions Tigres UANL (who lost to Monterrey in the 2019 final), competed in the 2020 Club World Cup that was pushed back to earlier this year, making it through to the final – the first time for a Concacaf club – before being beaten by Germany’s Bayern Munich.

The winners of this year’s Champions league will compete in the 2021 Club World Cup that was originally scheduled to be played in Japan in December. Following concerns over triggering further surges in the covid-19 in the country, Japan have pulled out of hosting. A new host has still to be appointed.

Contact the writer of this story at moc.l1634348895labto1634348895ofdlr1634348895owedi1634348895sni@n1634348895osloh1634348895cin.l1634348895uap1634348895