FIFA keeps its Awards night virtual; voting for world’s Best to open this month

November 10 – FIFA will hold its annual awards ceremony virtually for the second year in succession. A decision that follows and current public health measures preventing the spread of covid.

The Best FIFA Football Awards 2021 will take place on 17 January 2022 at the Home of FIFA, Zurich, Switzerland.

Voting for the awards will open on Monday, 22 November and close on Friday, 10 December 2021 and involves a c process involving the captains and head coaches of all FIFA’s national teams, an online ballot of fans and votes from a group of more than 300 media representatives.

The categories being voted on are:

  • The Best FIFA Women’s Player
  • The Best FIFA Men’s Player
  • The Best FIFA Women’s Coach
  • The Best FIFA Men’s Coach
  • The Best FIFA Women’s Goalkeeper
  • The Best FIFA Men’s Goalkeeper
  • FIFA FIFPRO Women’s World 11
  • FIFA FIFPRO Men’s World 11
  • FIFA Fair Play Award
  • FIFA Puskás Award (awarded for the best goal of the year)
  • FIFA Fan Award

The FIFA Awards night has been turned into a entertainment extravaganza in recent years with players and celebrity fans flown in from around the world to attend the shiny evening of gong-giving. With the world’s focus currently on climate change with the COP26 summit, FIFA can take comfort that at least for this year it has reduced its carbon footprint for this non-core event.

Contact the writer of this story at moc.l1638372492labto1638372492ofdlr1638372492owedi1638372492sni@n1638372492osloh1638372492cin.l1638372492uap1638372492