Dominican Republic to host U20 Women’s finals as Concacaf kicks off new youth formats

February 16 – Concacaf is returning to the Dominican Republic for the finals of its Women’s U20 Championship that will qualify three teams for next year’s U-20 Women’s World Cup.

Last year the championship qualified three teams for the 2022 Women’s U20 World Cup in Cost Rica. The US won their seventh title, beating Mexico 2-0 in the final. In the third-place match, Canada overcame Puerto Rico 2-0.

This year the competition will be the first to take place under Concacaf’s reformatted youth championship structure that will start with 32 teams playing in six qualifying groups (two of six teams and four of five teams) April 14 – 23.

The six group winners and top two ranked nations will then meet May 24 – June 3, 2023, in Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic. The finals will start as two groups of four with the top two in each group going through to knock-out semi-finals.

“We are very pleased to launch this new competition format which will showcase the very best women’s U-20 teams from across our region, as they compete to be crowned Concacaf champion and for qualification to the FIFA Women’s U-20 World Cup. We know the Dominican Republic will be an excellent host for this important tournament and on behalf of Concacaf, I would like to thank the Dominican Football Federation for their wholehearted support,” said Concacaf General Secretary Philippe Moggio.

The group draw for the qualifying groups will be held in Miami at Concacaf’s headquarters February 16 with the following nations going into the pot: Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Belize, Bermuda, Canada, Cayman Islands, Costa Rica, Cuba, Curacao, Dominica, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, French Guiana, Grenada, Guadeloupe, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Martinique, Nicaragua, Panama, Puerto Rico, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Sint Maarten, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago and US Virgin Islands.

The US and Mexico are the two seeded teams that will join the qualifiers for the Dominican Republic finals.

Contact the writer of this story at moc.l1719273010labto1719273010ofdlr1719273010owedi1719273010sni@n1719273010osloh1719273010cin.l1719273010uap1719273010