Gold Cup anticipation heats up with Mexico to open in Texas, US in Kansas

May 14 – Mexico will start off their Gold Cup defence with group games based in North Texas (Arlington and Dallas). The US will play their group games in Kansas while guests Qatar, grouped with Honduras, will be centralised in Houston. 

Concacaf has now released the full schedule for the 2021 Gold Cup, the region’s showpiece men’s national team competition.

The 2021 edition will include a new 12-team Preliminary Round (July 2-6) in Fort Lauderdale to qualify three teams for the Group Stages (July 10-20). A revamped Knockout Stage (July 24 – Aug 1) will see the top two teams from each group will advance to the Quarterfinals to be played as double headers at the State Farm Stadium in Glendale, Arizona, and AT&T Stadium in Arlington, Texas.

The semi-finals will be played on July 29, in NRG Stadium in Houston, and the brand-new Q2 Stadium in Austin, Texas.

The group stage focus has been on reducing the amount of travel teams would have made in previous editions. As well as the Dallas/Arlington, Houston and Kansas hubs, Orlando’s Exploria Stadium will host Group C where Costa Rica and Jamaica will be based.

“2021 is Concacaf’s 60th anniversary year and we look forward with great anticipation to watching the best men’s national teams in our confederation compete for the Gold Cup title. With an exciting new format and the prospect of welcoming passionate fans to the stadiums for these compelling matchups, I can’t wait for the football to begin on July 2nd and to crown a champion in Las Vegas on August 1st,” said Concacaf president and FIFA vice president Victor Montagliani.

Tickets for all Group Stage matches will go on sale to the general public on May 20.

Full 2021 Concacaf Gold Cup Schedule
*Listed in ET (local time)

Friday, July 2 – DRV PNK Stadium, Fort Lauderdale, FL (Prelims Round One)
16:30 (16:30) M1: Haiti vs Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
19:00 (19:00) M6: Bermuda vs Barbados
21:30 (21:30) M3: Trinidad and Tobago vs Montserrat

Saturday, July 3 – DRV PNK Stadium, Fort Lauderdale, FL (Prelims Round One)
16:30 (16:30) M5: Guadeloupe vs Bahamas
19:00 (19:00) M4: Cuba vs French Guiana
21:30 (21:30) M2: Guatemala vs Guyana

Tuesday, July 6 – DRV PNK Stadium, Fort Lauderdale, FL (Prelims Round Two)
16:30 (16:30) M9: Winner Prelims 3 vs Winner Prelims 4
19:00 (19:00) M7: Winner Prelims 1 vs Winner Prelims 6
21:30 (21:30) M8: Winner Prelims 2 vs Winner Prelims 5

Saturday, July 10 – Dallas Metropolitan Area (Group A)
17:00 (16:00) El Salvador vs Curaçao (Toyota Stadium)
22:00 (21:00) Mexico vs Winner Prelims 9 (AT&T Stadium)

Sunday, July 11 – Children’s Mercy Park, Kansas City, KS (Group B)
18:30 (17:30) Canada vs Martinique
20:30 (19:30) USA vs Winner Prelims 7

Monday, July 12 – Exploria Stadium, Orlando, FL (Group C)
18:30 (18:30) Jamaica vs Suriname
21:00 (21:00) Costa Rica vs Winner Prelims 8

Tuesday, July 13 – BBVA Stadium, Houston, TX (Group D)
19:00 (18:00) Qatar vs Panama
21:00 (20:00) Honduras vs Grenada

Wednesday, July 14 – Dallas Metropolitan Area (Group A)
19:30 (18:30) Winner Prelims 9 vs El Salvador (Toyota Stadium)
21:30 (20:30) Curaçao vs Mexico (Cotton Bowl Stadium)

Thursday, July 15 – Children’s Mercy Park, Kansas City, KS (Group B)
19:30 (18:30) Winner Prelims 7 vs Canada
21:30 (20:30) Martinique vs USA

Friday, July 16 – Exploria Stadium, Orlando, FL (Group C)
18:30 (18:30) Winner Prelims 8 vs Jamaica
20:30 (20:30) Suriname vs Costa Rica

Saturday, July 17 – BBVA Stadium, Houston, TX (Group D)
19:30 (18:30) Grenada vs Qatar
21:30 (20:30) Panama vs Honduras

Sunday, July 18 – Groups A and B
17:00 (16:00) Martinique vs Winner Prelims 7 (Toyota Stadium)
17:00 (16:00) USA vs Canada (Children’s Mercy Park)
22:00 (21:00) Mexico vs El Salvador (Cotton Bowl Stadium)
22:00 (21:00) Curaçao vs Winner Prelims 9 (Toyota Stadium)

Tuesday, July 20 – Groups C and D
19:00 (19:00) Costa Rica vs Jamaica (Exploria Stadium)
19:00 (18:00) Suriname vs Winner Prelims 8 (BBVA Stadium)
21:00 (21:00) Panama vs Grenada (Exploria Stadium)
21:00 (20:00) Honduras vs Qatar (BBVA Stadium)

Saturday, July 24 – State Farm Stadium, Glendale, AZ (Quarterfinals)
19:30 (16:30) QF1: 1D vs 2A
22:00 (19:00) QF2: 1A vs 2D

Sunday, July 25 – AT&T Stadium, Arlington TX (Quarterfinals)
19:00 (18:00) QF3: 1C vs 2B
21:30 (20:30) QF4: 1B vs 2C

Thursday, July 29 – Q2 Stadium, Austin, TX and NRG Stadium, Houston, TX (Semifinals)*
19:30 (18:30) SF1: Winner QF1 (1D or 2A) vs Winner QF4 (1B or 2C)
22:00 (21:00) SF2: Winner QF2 (1A or 2D) vs Winner QF3 (1C or 2B)

Sunday, August 1 – Allegiant Stadium, Las Vegas, NV (Final)
20:30 (17:30) Winner SF1 vs Winner SF2

Contact the writer of this story at moc.l1713127353labto1713127353ofdlr1713127353owedi1713127353sni@n1713127353osloh1713127353cin.l1713127353uap1713127353

El Salvador201416
Trinidad and Tobago021132
Costa Rica300629

Latest Tweets