How they qualified

Winning all four of their Nations League qualifying games, finishing second behind Haiti only goals scored and scoring 18 goals in the process, with the biggest win 8-0 in the US Virgin Islands.

Tournament record

Canada’s history in the Gold Cup is a real mix, with their surprise 2000 triumph the major highlight, but they have also failed to progress past the group stage on eight occasions, failing to win a game in 2015 as co-hosts. They also withdrew from the 1998 Gold Cup, according to the Canadian Association in order to give  Jamaica a chance to get vital tournament experience before their appearance at the France 98 World Cup, but rumours persisted of financial constraints and difficulty with securing foreign-based players for a tournament being held in January.

Their last Gold Cup experience in 2017 was a more positive one, qualifying from their group undefeated and narrowly losing to Jamaica in the Quarter-finals after threatening a comeback, so they will enter 2019 with expectations of matching, if not beating, that 2017 campaign.

Star Men

The creation of the Canadian Premier League will help with the development of local talent going forward, but Canada will be hopeful that Cardiff’s Junior Hoilett (pictured) and Glasgow Rangers’ Scott Arfield are at their best and can lead this youthful side forward, with 11 of the squad that beat French Guiana in qualifying being under 25.



They will be led in the Gold Cup by Englishman John Herdman, who has built a name for himself in Canada after more than six years as the coach of the Canada women’s national team, who won the Bronze medals at successive Olympic games. Herdman did not play at professional level, but has a reputation for world-class technical coaching abilities and has already silenced a number of the doubters who questioned whether he could transition from coaching the women’s team to the men’s team.

What can we expect

One of only three teams to have won the Gold Cup, having shocked the world in 2000, Canada come into this tournament with one eye on qualifying from the group and another on their continuing progress forward towards the 2026 World Cup, where they will be a co-host with their North American brethren Mexico and the USA.

Their group is a tough one, featuring Mexico and dark horses Martinique and Cuba, but they have the honour of opening the tournament against Martinique at the Rose Bowl and will fancy their chances of starting the tournament with a win.

With all the positivity around the federation and Canadian football at the moment, they will be targeting a deep run in the tournament with group qualification a minimum. The knock rounds will depend on the draw but a semi-final appearance is not out the question and at that point anything could happen.


15 June  – Canada v Martinque

Venue: Rose Bowl, Pasadena

19 June– Canada v Mexico

Venue: Broncos Mile High Stadium, Denver

23 June – Canada v Cuba

Venue: Bank of America Stadium, Los Angeles




Milan Borjan               23-10-1987     Estrella Roja

Maxime Crepeau         11-05-1994     Vancouver Whitecaps FC

Jayson Leutwiler         25-04-1989     Blackburn Rovers



Zachary Brault-Guillard          30-12-1998     Montreal Impact

Derek Cornelius          25-11-1997     Vancouver Whitecaps FC

Marcus Godinho        28-06-1997     Hearts

Doneil Henry              20-04-1993     Vancouver Whitecaps FC

Mark-Anthony Kaye   02-12-1994     Los Angeles FC

Kamal Miller               16-05-1997     Orlando City SC

Ashtone Morgan         09-02-1991     Toronto FC



Scott Arfield                01-11-1988     Rangers

Alphonso Davies        02-11-2000     Bayern Múnich

Atiba Hutchinson        08-02-1983     Besiktas

William Johnson         21-01-1987     Orlando City SC

Liam Millar                 27-09-1999     Kilmarnock

Noble Okello               20-07-2000     Toronto FC

Jonathan Osorio           12-06-1992     Toronto FC

Samuel Piette               12-11-1994     Montreal Impact

Russell Teibert            22-12-1992     Vancouver Whitecaps FC



Lucas Cavallini          28-12-1992     Puebla

Jonathan David          14-01-2000     Gent

Jumior Hoilett             05-06-1990     Cardiff City

Cyle Larin                   17-04-1995     Besiktas

Costa Rica201536
El Salvador111174
United States3001109
Trinidad and Tobago012191

Latest Tweets